Books

Questions? Call 1-800-447-7367 or 231-946-3712

 
Thumbnail
Tom Dokken's Advanced Retriever Training
Title
Tom Dokken's Advanced Retriever Training
Author

Tom Dokken

Description

Take your retriever to the next level with these advanced methods. Condensing Tom's 40-plus years of dog training into a concise, easy-to-follow guide, your'll unlock your dog's potential, teaching him to honor, nail multiple marked retrieves, handle blind retrieves over land and water, and much more.

Softbound-254 pages

 
Price
$22.99
Availability
In Stock
Order Code
RJ243
Thumbnail
A Field Guide to Upland Bird & Waterfowl Identification
Title
A Field Guide to Upland Bird & Waterfowl Identification
Author

By Christopher Smith

Description

Over 70 North American upland bird and waterfowl species are covered in this new identification with full color illustrations, distribution maps, preferred habitat, courtship rituals, and more. As beautiful as it is informative.

Softbound with lay-flat binding. 128 pages. 
Price
$19.95
Availability
Backordered
Order Code
RJ143
Thumbnail
British Training for American Retrievers
Title
British Training for American Retrievers
Author

By Vic Barlow

Description

Learn the training methods of our friends overseas, where sound hunting skills are the number one goal.

Spiralbound. 208 pages. 
Price
$24.50
Availability
In Stock
Order Code
RJ174
Thumbnail
Field Guide To Emergency Care for The Outdoor Dog
Title
Field Guide To Emergency Care for The Outdoor Dog
Author

By Dr. Randy Acker, D.V.M.

Description

A must. Includes symptoms, field treatment, and illustrated guides plus instructions.

Pocket-sized. 91 pages. 
Price
$15.00
Availability
Backordered
Order Code
RJ40
Thumbnail
How Sportsmen Saved the World
Title
How Sportsmen Saved the World
Author

By E. Donnall Thomas Jr

Description

This book's thesis is simple and logical: Faced with human development's ever-increasing demands upon habitat, wildlife today needs advocates more than ever before. When wildlife advocates work together, wildlife wins; when they bicker, wildlife loses. In this book Thomas tells for the first time the complete story of how sportsmen have managed to make the world a better place. Examining the lives and work of the giants in the history of wildlife conservation, Thomas concludes that the contributions of these sportsmen to the environment have been far more substantial than those of "environmental" organizations that have taken a stance against hunting and fishing.

Hardcover - 232 Pages

 
Price
$24.95
Availability
In Stock
Order Code
RJ207
Thumbnail
Hunting Ducks and Geese-Second Edition
Title
Hunting Ducks and Geese-Second Edition
Author

By Steve Smith

Description

All the advice and information you could ever need on the sport from a duck hunter you can trust from, Retriever Journal Editor Steve Smith.

Second Edition. 130 Pages, Softcover.

 
Price
$14.95
Availability
In Stock
Order Code
RJ212
Thumbnail
Just Puppies - Coffee Table Book
Title
Just Puppies - Coffee Table Book
Author

By Steve Smith

Description

The world of puppies is explored in these pages as never before with over 150 color photographs of rough-and-tumble pups in action and the engaging text of Steve Smith.

Hardbound. 120 pages. 
Price
$17.50
Availability
In Stock
Order Code
RJ81
Thumbnail
Just Puppies - Half Pint Version
Title
Just Puppies - Half Pint Version
Author

By Steve Smith

Description

HALF PINT EDITION

A new twist on an old favorite. Heartwarming text and photos complete this pint-sized tribute to puppies.

Hardbound. 96 pages.

 
Price
$12.95
Availability
In Stock
Order Code
RJ107
Thumbnail
Just Retrievers - Coffee Table Book
Title
Just Retrievers - Coffee Table Book
Author

By Chuck Petrie

Description

Two hundred colorful photographs of retrievers at work and play. In the tradition of Just Labs and Just Goldens.

Hardbound. 146 pages. 
Price
$34.95
Availability
In Stock
Order Code
RJ82
Thumbnail
Meditations on Hunting
Title
Meditations on Hunting
Author

By Ortega y Gassett

Description

The only book that clearly defines the essence of hunting. It belongs in every hunter's library.

Hardbound. 140 pages. 
Price
$39.00
Availability
Backordered
Order Code
RJ201
Thumbnail
Retriever Troubleshooting
Title
Retriever Troubleshooting
Author

By John & Amy Dahl

Description

The Dahl's provide valuable guidance on training dogs to go straight, developing marking and hunting ability, using pressure effectively, and promoting stylish retrieves through clear lessons and judicious use of force.

Softbound. 240 pages. 
Price
$24.50
Availability
In Stock
Order Code
RJ198
Thumbnail
Smart Fetch
Title
Smart Fetch
Author

By Evan Graham

Description

The definitive text on force fetching Retrievers with and without the use of the electronic collar. Smartwork is filled with the kind of information you'd expect from a retired professional dog trainer ... laying down a good philosophy that usually gets glossed over in some books, but something that Evan puts first and foremost in Smart Fetch.

Spiralbound. 120 pages. 
Price
$20.95
Availability
In Stock
Order Code
RJ190
Thumbnail
SmartWork for Retrievers Volume I - Basics and Transition
Title
SmartWork for Retrievers Volume I - Basics and Transition
Description

Dive into the basics of training your new dog and then transition into more advanced training with this volume of SmartWork For Retrievers. Book is sprialbound with places for notes, useful in the field.

Spiralbound. 178 pages. 
Price
$24.95
Availability
In Stock
Order Code
RJ160
Thumbnail
Sporting Dog and Retriever Training: The Wildrose Way
Title
Sporting Dog and Retriever Training: The Wildrose Way
Author

By Mike Stewart

Description

The Wildrose Way is a unique, low-force, positive training method that is field-proven for upland and waterfowl gundogs. The training prepares dogs for versatility and makes them desirable companions for any situation. Raising a gentleman's gundog for home and field. This is a fully illustrated book with photographs and diagrams.

Hardcover - 256 pages, 200 color photographs, 8 1/2 x 11

 
Price
$44.95
Availability
In Stock
Order Code
RJ213
Thumbnail
Sports Medicine for Hunting Dogs
Title
Sports Medicine for Hunting Dogs
Author

By Martin Coffman, DVM

Description

Sports Medicine for Hunting Dogs is the first book that gives the hunting dog owner comprehensive information and guidelines for the lifetime health care of their hunting dogs. Martin Coffman is the past president of the American Canine Sports Medicine Association. He worked as the Sporting Dog Technical Veterinarian for the Iams Company. He is currently a practicing vet who specializes in sports medicine, an avid hunter, and active in many breed clubs and hunting dog organizations. Martin covers a step-by-step schedule for the lifetime care of an eight-week-old puppy to a senior dog of 18 years. There are sections on conditioning; pre-season exercises; breeding; nutrition and supplements; the importance of good conformation; and health care. Sports Medicine for Hunting Dogs is an essential book for bird dog hunters who want the best performance and care for their canine companions.

124 Pages Softcover

 
Price
$19.95
Availability
In Stock
Order Code
RJ211